Secrets of Success Found in Small Places


“Then Moses summoned Bezalel and Oholiab and every skilled person to whom the LORD had given ability and who was willing to come and do the work.” Exodus 36:2 (NIV)

Maybe you are there right now. Maybe you’re looking to actively pursue your dreams in this Year. Whether it’s the hope of being an  or another dream you have bumping around in your heart, here’s what I’ve learned:

Always remember, rejection from man doesn’t mean rejection from God.
If God has gifted you to write, write! You don’t need a book deal to have an impact with your writing. The same is true with other dreams … sing, create, teach, paint, develop — use your gifts right where you are to bless others.

Most overnight success stories are years in the making.
Value the daily discipline of small steps, hard work, honing your craft, and putting in time learning and developing. Take classes. Be mentored. Push through those moments you want to slack off. And do it over and over, year after year.

Be a blessing to others.
Don’t keep your work to yourself. Find people who could be blessed with your work. I love to write. But what I love more than writing is seeing my writing help other people. That’s where I find the encouragement to push through the hard times.

Expect opposition.
The challenges and disappointments and set backs are all part of it. And honestly, these hard times serve a great purpose. I’ve learned much more from my failures in writing than my successes. Use these lessons … don’t waste them by giving up too soon. And remember to glorify Him whether it’s a struggle or a success. God uses all things for good.

Look for the small open doors right in front of you.
I always scratch my head when I meet people who tell me they want to write and speak but aren’t willing to teach a small Bible study first. If God is calling you to do something — He’ll have a door open in front of you. But it might be a small door. Look for the small door and walk through it.

Actually, dance through it with great joy because He will always do great things with people willing to be faithful in the small.

Dear Lord, I praise You for giving me the opportunity to pursue my dreams. I am so humbled that You would call me to serve You. Please help me persevere as I come up against opposition and frustration in the process of saying “yes” to You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Related Resources:
Do You Know Him?

What goal are you looking to reach?What small step toward that goal can you take today? Remember, we can’t go directly from A-Z. There are many stepping stones along the way.

Surround yourself with a positive support network. Having a strong group of friends/family who will stand with you and be honest with you on your journey is crucial.

Power Verse:
Philippians 2:13, “For it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill His good purpose.” (NIV)