Oh! The Folly Of Youth


IN SUMMARY:

  1. This teenage girl had an argument with her father about what career path to take.
  2. She wanted to be one thing while her father was convinced she was supposed to be another. In the heat of the moment, her father exploded and said he would not pay her school fees.
  3. She ran away from home, slept with a stranger, and contracted HIV.

I heard of a story in the recent about a girl who got infected with HIV under very unfortunatecircumstances. I hear that story with mixed feelings. It begins with pity, then empathy, and by the time I finished, I was somewhat angry with this girl. Before someone accuses me of being insensitive, I will explain later what made of angry. In the meantime, let us travel down memory lane. Do you remember those high school end-year fare-well books? The ones where we used to write our goodbyes to our friends? That is the time you would open your heart and say all the sweet or nasty things you ever wanted to say to that person. Most would be sealed with strict instructions on what day to open them. I loved reading every single one of them and have kept those books to date. One lovely girl, Mable Richards Dakawrote me a very sweet farewell note. Her final words were,a moment’s passion can lead to a lifetime of regret. Be careful.
I still treasure those words since they contributed a great deal to of walking down the aisle as a pure gentleman last months.

Back to the story I alluded to. This teenage girl had an argument with her father bout what career path to take. She wanted to be one thing while her father was convinced she was supposed to be another. In the heat of the moment, her father exploded and said he would not say her school fees. She ran away from home, slept with a stranger, and contracted HIV. Now I am mad.

TEENAGE YEARS

Teenagers, let me make your parents clear: You will have arguments with your parents. You will argue about what to wear, when to go to where and with whom, you will argue about your hairdo and your choice of friends and you will most definately argue about what to do with your life. To disagree with your parents is like your job description as a teenager. You will argue because they think they know everything, while you think they know nothing. Few parents have any idea what some university courses are and they have no idea what you will become after studying such ridiculous courses. and contrary to what you may believe, they have your best interests at heart. I studied linguisticsat the university and from the onset, I had a very hard time explaining to my parents what that was. All they knew was, you study law, you become a lawyer. You study education, you become a teacher. You study Medicine, you become a doctor. You study linguistics, you become . . . Yeah. I know. Blank. And so throughout my first year, I got constant calls demanding that I change to a degree in education or a more intelligible course. I did not. But I also did not go and make love to a stranger. I politely told them I wanted to study linguistics and communication and that I did not wha to be a teacher. We did not quite agree on that one, but they finally saw that I was serious and stopped pushing me to change my degree course. It ended well although my father still asks me what it was I studied again, we are cool.

I feel really bad about this girl who has to live with HIV simply because she had a momentary disagreement with her father. The mature thing to do would have been to sleep over it and then talk to him when both of them have calmed down. If he remained adamant, she could go ahead and study whatever he wanted, then switch careers later. Some have made it, switching from mathematics to music, quite a big switch. So anything is possible. I know many teachers who are bankers right now!

So, take heed of this words:

A moment’s passion can lead to a lifetime of regret. Be careful.

