THE SOLDIERS PSALM


Psalm of Confidence!

Three Voices Speak in Succession:

  • An individual proclaiming his trust in God
  • An audience then speaks to that individual, and describes God’s protection and care..
  • God speaking about the faithful person; He promises to protect him..

Psalm 91:1-2

Psalm 91

First, it examines the idea of living in God. Its personalized. The first person perspective “I” does not return until v.9 and 91:14-16. These two verses use four different names for God.

Psalm 91:1-16

  1. The one who lives under the protection of the Most High dwells in the shadow of the Almighty.
  2. I will say to the LORD, My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.
  3. He Himself will deliver me from the hunter’s net, from the destructive plague.
  4. He will cover me with His feathers; I will take refuge under His wings. His faithfulness will be a protective shield.
  5. I will not fear the terror of the night, the arrow that flies by day,
  6. the plague that stalks in darkness, or the pestilence that ravages at noon.
  7. Though a thousand fall at my side and ten thousand at my right hand, the pestilence will not reach me.
  8. I will only see it with my eyes and witness the punishment of the wicked.
  9. Because I have made the LORD – my refuge, the Most High – my dwelling place,
  10. no harm will come to me; no plague will come near my tent.
  11. For He will give His angels orders concerning me, to protect me in all my ways.
  12. They will support me with their hands so that I will not strike my foot against a stone.
  13. I will tread on the lion and the cobra; I will trample the young lion and the serpent.
  14. Because I’m lovingly devoted to Him, He will deliver me; He will exalt me because I know His name.
  15. When I call out To Him, He will answer me; He will be with me in trouble. He will rescue me and give me honor.
  16. He will satisfy me with a long life and show me His salvation.

Amen! Amen! Amen!

 

One thought on “THE SOLDIERS PSALM”

Comments are closed.